Where did the term "Unconscious Mind" come from... and what does this mean?

Mar 2011
Staten Island, New York
Sigmund Freud was the first scientist to use this term in a medical context, as far as my knowledge goes.

Mar 2010
PA, USA
[quote author=ErikAndersen link=topic=1880.msg13754#msg13754 date=1301095694]
Sigmund Freud was the first scientist to use this term in a medical context, as far as my knowledge goes.[/quote]
Thanks for this Erik, but docjp's question isn't really a question. Trust me. ;)

Feb 2011
USA
As a layman, I prefer examples.
When you know you know a name but can't access it on demand. The name is in memory, in that sense, unconscious, meaning 'out of awareness'.
Notice how by stopping to 'force' the name to show up, it's better to stop 'trying', then it 'pops in' later unexpectedly.

Language has 'limitations'. It's not mankinds best artifact.

Nov 2008
U.S.A.
The unconscious mind is a term coined by the 18th century German romantic philosopher Sir Christopher Riegel and later introduced into English by the poet and essayist Samuel Taylor Coleridge.[1] The unconscious mind might be defined as that part of the mind which gives rise to a collection of mental phenomena that manifest in a person's mind but which the person is not aware of at the time of their occurrence. These phenomena include unconscious feelings, unconscious or automatic skills, unnoticed perceptions, unconscious thoughts, unconscious habits and automatic reactions, complexes, hidden phobias and concealed desires.