Stepping on people

Mar 2020
US
I worked as a night clerk at a superstore last year and I tried to be really cheerful to keep my energy levels up. My dad was teaching me scrum, a new work method where workers discussed the best way to handle things for more efficiency. I could help but try to discuss things with my coworkers because the manager thought it was a good idea. I later got in trouble for having an opinion and I realized scrum was really bad at my job, it got me in trouble. I stopped doing that.

I also tried to be really cheerful. I enjoyed working at that place and it kept my energy level up. Two coworkers and the manager thought it was funny to call me a fag. It didn't really bother me but I couldn't help saying "oh yeah?" I put up with it till they just put me in price changing because it was causing a distraction that I was being bullied even though I was taking it well.

In price changing. The first night I prepared all my tags and signs and went to lunch. When I came back from lunch to post them all, someone had hidden them. They weren't even in the garbage. I was pissed but I tried not to show it. I emailed my head manager telling her that the job couldn't get done because it was sabotauged. I emailed her three times just to make it clear and I wanted to add details.

I started printing the tags and signs all over again knowing I couldn't post them in time. The printer wasn't working. I opened and closed the door several times acting really stoic. The woman who was sitting next to me told me that I was scaring her and she didn't feel safe around me. There was nothing I could do.

The next evening one of the managers brought me back to the office really nicely. When I got there there were 3 managers. And they listed accusations and asked me to quit. Of course I quit it was better than getting terminated.