Is this personality related, or is something else going on?

Jan 2021
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
I've been working with a particular individual for a two years now, and it slowly became apparent that this fellow seems to think "differently". I don't know what contributes to his thought patterns, but there is a very clear pattern involving 3 elements that are present in almost every situation in which I interact with this person, and I'd love to understand them better, since I have to work with them.

These are the things that seem to be ever-present:

1. They don't seem to understand what activities he is, and isn't competent to perform. For example, the two of us have different skill sets, and when I'm using those skills in which I actually have professional training and experience, when I ask for his input (as a courtesy, since he ranks above me, but is not my supervisor; he has his job as a result of familial connections, and has had no professional success himself), he will generally have very different ideas at the best approach to something, which contradict well established mainstream knowledge in many fields, and will be insistent that his approach is somehow superior than mine, despite the fact that earlier on, when I didn't know him very well, I actually heeded his requests, and without exception, those projects have seriously suffered as a result. He will then generally blame a number of outside factors, and diminish, or completely ignore any role his ideas played in the failure. He does this when we hire outside professionals as well. It's painful to watch them try to function at their best, when he over-involves himself and forces them essentially work with a blindfold on, one hand tied behind their back, and one leg missing.

I am aware of the Dunning-Kruger effect, but this seems somehow different.