Anti-Social Personality Disorder

May 2009
I've been pondering this for a long time. Maybe I can find some help here. I'm a psychology student in my freshman year in college, and recently we began to go more in depth into Anti-Social Personality Disorder. I was sort of suprised upon further examination of the symptoms, because it seemed to describe me perfectly. I did notice around about the time I turned 17 or so, my constant apathetic nature has been growing rapidly. I've always had violent thoughts/fantasies since I was younger, but lately they seem to be developing at a pretty quick rate. The thoughts occur much more frequently, and it's almost as if i am uncapable of caring for other people. My mother revealed to me the other day that she was leaving our family, and I laughed in her face and asked her how soon. I still feel no remorse. It's almost as if I'm emotionally numb except for fullfilling my own needs, I cannot honestly say that I care about anyone else.
I can't be offically diagnosed, because I never had a conduct disorder before 15, but was frequently in trouble at school and with the law. All the symptoms seem to fit right into place, though. I use people all the time for personal gain, I'm extremely manipulative, and basically I tell people what they want to hear just so long as I can see personal profit from it. Once again, I feel no remorse, and I have no sympathy for anyone else. Could I be an undiagnosed case?

Thoughts appreciated.

Reactions: Usedandabused
May 2009
These are serious matters and I don't want to belittle them. But I often get confused between "psychological disorder" and "maturity issue". I tend to see the world as full of people with psychological problems, and you are seeing yourself in that way. But it's been pointed out to me that most of us go through phases of lying etc. You're still pretty young, and you have good insight into your behavior. Perhaps you can use that information to gain wisdom.

SWM

May 2008
@MetalMonkey